Department of Physics and Astronomy

Experts Within Astronomy and Space Research

Andreas Korn
University Lecturer at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: andreas.korn@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5991
Languages: Swedish, English, German
Research areas: Ordinary stars and their properties, the Milky Way and its development, the space mission Gaia

Bengt Edvardsson
University Lecturer at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: bengt.edvardsson@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5983
Languages: Swedish, English
Research areas: Ordinary stars and their spectra, the Milky Way and its development, the space project Gaia 

Bernd Freytag
Researcher at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: bernd.freytag@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5992
Languages: (Swedish), English, German
Research areas: Simulations of boiling giant stars

Eric Stempels
Researcher at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: eric.stempels@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5994
Languages: Swedish, English, Dutch
Research areas: Meteors, meteorites, astronomical phenomena, telescopes, telescope instrumentation, spectroscopy, stars, exoplanets, astronomical history

Erik Zackrisson
Deputy University Lecturer at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: erik.zackrisson@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5975
Languages: Swedish and English
Research areas: Cosmology, galaxies, life in the Universe

Jan-Erik Wahlund
Associate Professor at the Swedish Institute of Space Physics
E-mail: Jan-Erik.Wahlund@rymdfysik.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5946 
Research areas: Other planets, satellites, rockets and space travel

Joel Johansson
Postdoctoral Researcher at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: joel.johansson@physics.uu.se
Languages: Swedish, English
Research areas: Supernovas

Kjell Olofsson
University Lecturer at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: kjell.olofsson@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5956
Research areas: Galaxies and cosmology

Martin Sahlén
Researcher at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
Telefon: 018-471 5971
Languages: Swedish, English
Research areas: Cosmology, galaxy clusters, the first galaxies of the Universe, cosmic voids, dark energy, deviations from Einstein´s theory of gravity, the Euclid-satellite, Dark Energy Survey, philosophy of cosmology (e.g. multiverse, fine adjustment, limits of knowledge)

Mats André
Professor at the Swedish Institute of Space Physics
E-mail: mats.andre@rymdfysik.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5913
Research areas: Satellites, rockets and space travel

Nikolai Piskunov
Professor at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: nikolai.piskunov@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5958
Languages: Swedish, English, Russian
Research areas: Telescopes, telescope instrumentation, spectroscopy, stars, exoplanets

Oleg Kochukhov
Professor at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: oleg.kochukhov@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5993
Languages: Swedish, English, Russian
Research areas: Stars with spots and magnetic fields

Olga Botner
Professor at the Division of High Energy Physics
E-mail: olga.botner@physics.uu.se 
Telephone: 018-471 3876
Research areas: The Universe, neutrinos from the Cosmos and the IceCube-project in Antarctica

Paul Barklem
Professor at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: paul.barklem@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5981
Languages: Swedish, English
Research areas: Star spectra, spectra of gasses and interaction with light

Sofia Ramstedt
Researcher at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: sofia.ramstedt@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5970
Languages: Swedish, English, German
Research areas: Radio astronomy, winds and shrouds around stars

Susanne Höfner
Professor at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: susanne.hoefner@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5953
Languages: Swedish, English, German
Research areas: Old giant stars, star winds

Ulf Danielsson
Professor at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: ulf.danielsson@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 3299
Research areas: The origin of the Universe, superstrings and theoretical physics

Ulrike Heiter
Researcher at the Division of Astronomy and Space Physics
E-mail: ulrike.heiter@physics.uu.se
Telephone: 018-471 5982
Languages: Swedish, English, German
Research areas: Ordinary stars and their spectra, the Milky Way and its development, the space project Gaia, planets