Research Activities

Current Research Activities

  • Linking complexity research and related theories to the field of teaching and learning physics and engineering.
    • Using Complexity Thinking to model:
      • student retention in physics and engineering
      • emergence as a factor in student learning
  • Representation and knowledge construction: Towards a new understanding of science teaching and learning using a disciplinary discourse lens.
    • Using disciplinary literacy to analyse learning in undergraduate science
    • The role of disciplinary-specific representation, multimodality and reflection in:
      • the crafting of teacher practice (physics, chemistry and genetics)
      • the learning of introductory astronomy
      • the learning of undergraduate physics
  • Using phenomenographic theory to:
    • explore variation as a teaching tool
    • model reflective learning by drawing on the work of John Dewey and Donald Schön
  • Exploring the role of mathematics in learning physics
  • How students' reason about socioscientific issues and associated cross-cultural epistemological orientations

Previous Activities

  • A critical exploration of Scientific Literacy.
  • Characterizing, understanding and problematizing learning physics from simulations in Physics and Engineering.
  • Characterizing the emerging gender influences in the context of physics student-laboratory work.
  • Aspects of the language choice debate in Swedish Higher Education as it relates to physics education.
  • Physics students’ expectations of good teaching.
  • Looking at student understanding and its development in undergraduate laboratory settings.
  • Investigating student's conceptual hurdles in Quantum Mechanics.
  • The experience of learning in groups. For example, Supplemental Instruction (SI) and tutor groups.

Collaborators

Susanne Wikman, School of Natural Sciences, Linnaeus University, Kalmar, Sweden
susanne.wikman@lnu.se

Inger Edfors, School of Natural Sciences, Linnaeus University, Kalmar, Sweden
inger.edfors@lnu.se

Brita Johansson Cederblad, School of Natural Sciences, Linnaeus University, Kalmar, Sweden
brita.johansson-cederblad@lnu.se

Mats Lindahl, School of Natural Sciences, Linnaeus University, Kalmar, Sweden
mats.lindahl@lnu.se

Ellen Moons, Physics and Electrical Engineering, Karlstad University, Karlstad, Sweden
ellen.moons@kau.se

Magareta Enghag, Department of Mathematics and Science Education, Stockholm University, Sweden
margareta.enghag@mnd.su.se

Andreas Redfors, Section for Teacher Education,
Kristianstad University College, Kristianstad, Sweden
andreas.redfors@hkr.se

Rachel Moll, Vancouver Island University, Nanaimo, Canada
rfmoll@gmail.com

Duncan Fraser, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Cape Town, South Africa
dmf@chemeng.uct.ac.za

Burkhard Priemer, Physics Education Research, Department of Physics, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany
priemer@physik.hu-berlin.de

Allan MacKinnon, Science Education, Faculty of Education, Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, Canada
amackinn@sfu.ca

Delia Marshall, Department of Physics, University of the Western Cape, South Africa
dmarshall@uwc.ac.za

Mark Herbert, Department of Physics, University of the Western Cape, South Africa
mherbert@uwc.ac.za

Noah Finkelstein, Physics Education Research, Department of Physics, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA
finkelsn@Colorado.EDU

Dana Zeidler, Science Education, College of Education, University of South Florida, Tampa, Florida, USA
zeidler@coedu.usf.edu

Jenny Case, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Cape Town, South Africa
jenni.case@uct.ac.za

Gaalen Erickson, Director of the Centre for the Study of Teacher Education, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
gaalen.erickson@ubc.ca

Post-graduate studies / Forskarutbildning

Physics education is a new research direction open to all fields of physics. Students may either focus entirely on physics education for their PhD or they may negotiate to have some of their PhD papers in another area of physics research. In such a case there needs to be a logical link between the areas of study and the students will need supervisors in both areas that support such an arrangement.

Information on post-graduate studies in the Department of Physics

Studieplan för forskarutbildning i fysik med inriktning mot fysikens didaktik