Venkata Kamalakar Mutta Awarded the Thuréus Prize


Venkata Kamalakar Mutta, X-ray Photon Science, was on November 23, 2021 awarded the Royal Society of Sciences’ Thuréus Prize in the University building.

Venkata Kamalakar Mutta
Venkata Kamalakar Mutta.

He is awarded the prize for his internationally acclaimed studies of spin currents in graphene and other materials with reduced dimensions.

“I am very happy and honored to receive the Thuréus Prize, alongside many talented researchers. It feels incredible to get recognition for research spanning more than 10 years, which now brings us new exciting possibilities,” says Venkata Kamalakar Mutta.

The Thuréus Prizes are awarded to three very eminent Uppsala researchers, each with a prize sum of SEK 100,000. The other laureates of 2021 are Tove Fall at the Department of Medical Sciences and Oskar Nordström Skans at the Department of Economics.

The Thuréus Prizes originate in a donation by the late doctor and Uppsala student Sven Thuréus, through the formation of Lilly and Sven Thuréus' fund for Nature and Culture.

The Royal Society of Sciences at Uppsala was founded in 1710 and is Sweden’s oldest science academy. It is a continuing active and engaged academy which, among other things, supports Swedish science of the highest quality by awarding prizes and rewards to deserving researchers.

Read more about the Royal Society of Sciences at Uppsala

Camilla Thulin

English translation: Johan Wall

Last modified: 2023-08-04